Registered charity 1059047 (unmaintained legacy site – official site: www.nawg.co.uk)

The National Association of Writers' Groups

HomeCompetitionsCompetition Results ♦ Members' Competition Results 2016

Members' Competition Results 2016

Here are the results, in no particular order, for the 2016 NAWG members' writing competitions. Congratulations to all of those listed and thank you to all who took part.

The winners were announced at the NAWGFest Gala Dinner on Saturday 3rd September.

Details of the next round of members' competitions for 2017, deadline 30th April, are detailed in the December Link magazine. They're also available on this website.

Winning Entries & Judging Notes

The Write Path 2016

Many of the competition winning entries, along with full judging notes, are available in our anthology, The Write Path 2016, including:

Why not order your copy today? Click the image for details.

Open Poetry – The Daisy Watkins Trophy

Judged by Susan Clarke.


The House Plant by Tim Taylor, Holmfirth Writers' Group.

  • Come Back by Sally Brown, Holmfirth Writers' Group.
  • Confetti by Heather Ann Russell, Ponteland Writers.
  • Villanelle: Elegy by Mark P Henderson, Write from the Heart.

Formal Poem: Terza Rima – The CMP (UK) Ltd Trophy

Judged by Alison Chisholm.


Frost Patterns by Shelagh Wain, Burton Monday Writers.

  • Comfort Food by Heather Ann Russell, Ponteland Writers.
  • Love at First Sight by Jill Rundle, individual member.
  • In Step by Stuart Randall, Moorside Writers.

Poem by Children – The Pam Fish Cup

Judged by Steve Bowkett.


Am I Stupid? by Shivani Cook, c/o Sarada Thompson, Llanelli Writers' Circle.

  • Dear Great-Grandma by Isabel Ashby Foster, c/o Sylvia Rowley, Salford Women's Writers' Group.
  • Earth by Arthur Cartwright-Smith, c/o Susan Dora Cartwright-Smith, Carlisle Writers' Group.
  • Shakespeare you are a Legend by Ethan Sehmbhy, c/o Neil Sehmbhy, Wombourne Writers.

Travel Article – The Verica Peacock Memorial Trophy

Judged by Simon Whaley.


The Essence of India by Derek Keen, The Fellowship of the Pen.

  • A Decent Bowl of Elk Soup by Andrew Connolly, Writers Reign.
  • Dulverton – Labradors, Lurchers and Ladies that Lunch by Helen Jane Somers, Writers in Somerset.
  • I Rang for Ice by Lynne C Potter, Hexham Writers.
Highly Commended
  • The God of Ordinary by Sheila Crawford, Hexham Writers.
  • In Search of the Old Crowd by Brenda Curry, The Poised Pen.

Ghost Story – The Aine Maire Chadwick Trophy

Judged by Bernadette Keeling.


The Pause by Sarah Dixon, York Writers.

  • Code Red by David Lake, Writers in Somerset.
  • Not for Resus by Christina May, The Poised Pen.
  • Not Every Pair of Pyjamas has a Pocket by Sheila Crawford, Hexham Writers.
Highly Commended
  • Dead Famous by John Glander, individual member.
  • Ghost School by Bob Bishop, Walsham Writers.

Short Story with Given Phrase – The Professor David Lodge Trophy

Judged by Tim Wilson.


Voices by Derek Keen, The Fellowship of the Pen.

  • Sit it Out by Edward Cartner, individual member.
  • The Sky Below by Carolyn Ward, Castlecroft.
  • Yesterday by Janet Killeen, individual member.

Short Story for Teenagers, Aged 14—15 – The Jilly Cooper Trophy

Judged by Steve Bowkett.


Off Piste by Derek Keen, The Fellowship of the Pen.

  • A Helping Hand by Shelagh Wain, Burton Monday Writers.
  • Disappearing Act by Alan Edward Murton, Truro Creative Writers' Group.

Story by Children – The Pam Fish Cup

Judged by Steve Bowkett.


The Witch Hunter by Freya Arnott, c/o Jill Rundle, individual member.

  • Anger thicker than Murder by Briony Arnott, c/o Jill Rundle, individual member.
  • The Doll Shop by Aidan Finlayson-Palmer, c/o Emma Finlayson-Palmer, Wombourne Writers.
  • Treasure Tomb by Lily Hurley, c/o Carol Hurley, Wombourne Writers.

Comedy Writing – The David Nobbs Memorial Trophy

Judged by Jane Wenham-Jones.


Pre-erection Promises by Andy Humphrey, York Writers.

  • It's Good to Talk by Dick Sawdon-Smith, Thames Valley Writers' Circle.
  • Oops! by Bill Peters, Writers in Somerset.
  • The Wedding Guests by Michelle Pilkington, individual member.

Memoir – The Writers Bureau Trophy

Judged by Simon Whaley.


The Reality of Difference by Jean Eaton, Words in Edgeways.

  • Buttering the Bread to the Edges by Jo Roberts, The Writers Hub.
  • Footprints in the Sand by Sarada Thompson, Llanelli Writers' Circle.
  • The Furniture of Life by Rosemary Gray, Ponteland Writers.
Highly Commended
  • All Fogged In and No Papers by Heather Susan Tinder, Truro Creative Writers Group.
  • Candy by Maggie Davison, Hexham Writers.

Ten Minute Play – The Sir Alan Ayckbourn Trophy

Judged by Marvin Close.


The Lace-Maker's Gift by Lynda Turner, Burton Monday Writers.

  • A Hunter's Hope by Sally Mitcham, York Writers.
  • Dark Stop by Joanne Tyrrell, York Writers.
  • Forty-two by Amanda Giles, Hastings Writers Group.

Group Anthology – The Denise Robertson Memorial Plate

Judged by 2015 winners: Swansea and District Writers' Circle.


"temperaments" by Peterborough Writers' Circle.

  • All Things Considered by The Poised Pen.
  • Athena – 25th Anniversary Issue by Llanelli Writer's Circle.
  • In the Company of Poets by Holme Valley Writers.

Mini-tale – Written during NAWGFest

Judged by kind volunteers at the festival.


Foreign Aid by Sue de Nimme, aka Penny Ellis.

  • Love Match by Serendipity, aka Jill Rundle.
  • Pale on the Gatepost by The Red Dragon, aka Alison Ringrose.
  • A Simple Twist of Fate by Soul-collector, aka John Thompson.

Prize Draw – A Year's Free Membership


The Borderliners, c/o Anne Abbinnette.

Article Actions
Article Information
Posted by: Kevin Machin Date: July 5, 2016 11:22 am
Categories: Members Only Competitions, Competition Results Tags: None
Comments: 0 – permitted Article: 4865 – public
Legacy copy – all further commenting is disabled site-wide.

article as:

Get Creative logo

Competition & Mentorships

We are proud to be associated with the Highlands & Islands Short Story Association.



  • Book Printing
  • Self Publishing
  • Anthologies
  • Hard and Soft Back Book Production
  • Free guide and sample book

CMP (uk) Ltd

G3 The Fulcrum, Vantage Way, Poole, Dorset, BH12 4HU

Telephone: 01202 739993